Thursday, December 13, 2012

Women Clean Up at the Awards for Observers of the Freight and Shipping Industry

Record Entry Meant Standards High at Annual Seahorse Christmas Party
Shipping News Feature

UK – One of the main criticisms aimed at the shipping industry is that it is too misogynistic and, as the journalists who specialise in writing up the freight trade are often refugees from the sector, one might suspect the situation to be the same amongst the humble scribes. Any such thoughts were well and truly banished at the annual Seahorse Club Journalism Awards held in London on the 11th December when it was the women who walked away, quite justifiably, with the bulk of the honours.

The awards were presented at the Seahorse Club’s annual Christmas Party held in association with Associated British Ports (ABP). Event sponsorship was also provided by American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) and the International Transport Journal (ITJ). Individual awards were sponsored by: DP World, Geodis Wilson, Maersk Line, Port of Singapore (PSA International), the UK P&I Club and Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics.

A record entry meant a big crowd which raised £500 via a raffle on behalf of Transaid, the charity which aims to reduce poverty and improve livelihoods across the developing world through creating better transport and which features regularly in our articles. In total there were 130 entries from more than 50 journalists in 12 countries around the world. The awards recognize excellence in news and feature writing for journalists specialising in the maritime, transport and supply chain industries.

The list of winners is as follows:

The Seahorse Club Journalist of the Year went to Liz McCarthy of Lloyd’s List for a trilogy of articles on ship demolition and recycling. The judges commended her clear understanding of the issues and impressive ability to track down, analyse and present information concisely describing it as “An outstanding piece of journalism.” Runner-up for the award was Jonathan Saul who writes for Thomson Reuters.

International Editor of the Year was Carly Fields, editor of Port Strategy, The Baltic and Shipping Network.

Air Cargo Journalist of the Year was Mike King, based in Asia and writing for Air Cargo News.

Environmental Journalist of the Year is Wendy Laursen, a freelance based in Australia, with Craig Eason of Lloyd’s List named runner-up.

Supply Chain Journalist title went to Felicity Landon for an article in Port Strategy. Alex Lennane, writing for Airline Cargo Management, was awarded runner-up

News Journalist of the Year was Janet Porter of Lloyd’s List, and runner-up was Greg Miller, Fairplay’s editor based in the United States.

Feature Journalist was Susan Parker of Passenger Ship Technology, with a joint entry by Michelle Wiese Bockmann & Edward Robinson of Bloomberg News named runner-up.

Seahorse Club Chairman Peter Owen also announced the winners of the club’s two special awards, named in memory of two former Seahorse stalwarts.

Sarah Lockie, Senior Vice President Corporate Communications, DP World, was awarded the John Rose Personality of the Year Award whilst the The John Richman Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to journalist and editor Ian Martin-Jones.

Photo:- Liz McCarthy receives the Seahorse Journalist of the Year Award from Nick Whitear, Commercial Director of sponsor UK P&I Club.