Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Truckers Friend Will Host British Freight Awards This Year

Now Eleven Categories Are Open for Nominations
Shipping News Feature

UK – The event host for this year’s British International Freight Association’s Freight Service Awards 2015 Ceremony is to be ‘patron saint of road users’ and radio traffic reporter Sally Boazman. Sally gained her elevation to sainthood due to her position as ‘truckers’ friend’ whilst broadcasting her BBC Radio 2 travel reports to drivers the length and breadth of Britain to whom she is also commonly known as ‘Sally Traffic’. Sally will conduct affairs at the BIFA awards ceremony on 21 January 2016, once again in the impressive Porter Tun Room at the grade II listed The Brewery in central London.

DP World London Gateway will again be the lead sponsor for an event which is always eagerly anticipated by those in the British shipping and freight forwarding sector. Sally Boazman is an apt choice of speaker as she has helped keep the country moving since she became BBC Radio 2’s first designated travel reporter in 1998, since which time she has won an 'Outstanding Achievement Award' for her traffic news on behalf of all the UK Truckers, and become a popular guest at the Truckfest events up and down the country. She has been variously described as ‘the sexiest voice on radio’, ‘a bit of a superhero for motorists’ and a ‘national treasure’, regularly broadcasting to 8 million listeners and with the Highways Agency monitoring her show for their own updates.

Now in its 27th year, the BIFA competition is the leading awards scheme recognising the best in the UK freight forwarding industry, evidenced by the fact that all of the category sponsors from last year have decided to support the Awards once again. They are joined by two new sponsors supporting two new categories, which have been introduced following feedback from last year's event. The Cool Award is for providers of refrigerated freight services by any mode of transport, whereas the Extra Mile Award is for companies that can demonstrate examples of innovation and/or customer care by adding value and exceeding customer expectations.

The winner of the Young Freight Forwarder Award will receive a cheque for £1,000 and be nominated as the UK candidate for the Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year Award 2015. This year, every Young Freight Forwarder candidate who meets the deadlines will also be entered into the Young Forwarder Prize Draw, where they will have the chance to win two economy tickets to New York, courtesy of category sponsor, Virgin Atlantic Cargo.

The Freight Service Awards 2015 are open to full, and probationary Members of BIFA, the trade association for UK freight forwarding companies and entries for any of the categories can be made through the event’s website where details of the entry process can also be found. Deadline for registration this year is 25 September whilst submissions should be complete by Friday 9 October. BIFA Director General, Robert Keen commented:

“As ever, our Awards are a great opportunity for UK forwarders to demonstrate excellence and represent ultimate recognition of special achievement in different sectors of the freight forwarding and logistics industry, and I am delighted that we have secured the services of such a well-known voice with which many of our members, and their drivers, will be familiar. The award announcements should be especially easy on the ear, as Sally was voted one of the most attractive female voices on UK radio in a Radio Times poll, coming in at number 4, beating most of the top personalities in UK radio and topping the poll on BBC Radio 2.”

The eleven categories of the BIFA Freight Service Awards 2015 are as follows:

General Categories:

• Project Forwarding Award – sponsored by Peter Lole & Co

• Specialist Services Award – sponsored by Forward Computers

• Staff Development Award – sponsored by Albacore Systems

• Supply Chain Management Award – sponsored by BoxTop Technologies

• Sustainable Logistics Award – sponsored by Red Recruit

Modal Categories:

• Air Cargo Services Award – sponsored by IAG Cargo

• European Logistics Award – sponsored by TT Club

• Ocean Services Award – sponsored by Cargoguide International

Specialist Categories:

• Cool Award – sponsored by American Airlines Cargo

• Extra Mile Award – sponsored by Descartes

Individual Category:

• Young Freight Forwarder Award – sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo