Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Time for the Best Women in Freight and Logistics to be Counted Again

Annual Transport Awards Try to Encourage More Female Staff to Enter the Industry
Shipping News Feature

UK – The finalists for the 2015 FTA everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards have been announced, and with the freight and logistics industry facing an ever increasing skills gap, everywoman hopes that by championing women already excelling in the sector, more will be encouraged to join an industry which employs 10% of the UK workforce, yet only 22-25% of which are women.

Transport and logistics forms the backbone of the UK’s economy, and 24 of the most inspirational role models are announced as finalists in the 2015 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards. From freight specialists and warehouse managers to bus drivers, from those starting out on the career ladder to senior figures leading the way, those on the shortlist demonstrate the breadth that a career in transport offers.

The FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards were established eight years ago, and today the programme is more essential than ever: with population growth predicted to continue, our infrastructure has never been more important and this in turn has created jobs and career opportunities David Wells, Chief Executive Officer of the Freight Transport Association (FTA) said:

“The Freight Transport Association is proud to be the title partner of the prestigious FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards 2015. These Awards encourage forward-thinking companies that are committed to introducing diversity to the freight industry, and showcase how women can make a career in transport a successful and fulfilling one. The key for the logistics industry is to be able to access a wider talent pool to be able to meet its needs for good qualify staff in whichever role it needs to fill, and working with everywoman offers FTA opportunities to expand that work.”

The finalists for this year’s awards are as follows:

Rising Star of the Year Award – Sponsored by Wincanton:

• Zoë Dobell, Project Engineer, London Underground, from London

• Megan Gray, Operational Risk Manager – Profit Protection, John Lewis Partnership, from Northampton

• Chloe Longstaff, Sales Project Co-ordinator, TNT UK, from Nuneaton

• Sabina Nizamuddin, Business Manager, High Speed Two, from London

Driver of the Year Award:

• Sharon Davidson, Bus Operator, RATP Dev London, from London

• Kerryn Hedley, Bus Driver, Reading Buses, from Reading

• Natasha Lambert, Bus Operator, Go Ahead, from London

The Warehousing Award – sponsored by DHL:

• Michelle Fitton, UK Warehouse Network Manager, Mondeléz International, from Chesterfield

• Joanne Harrison, Days Warehouse Shift Manager, ASDA, from Hartlepool

• Rosemary Wilkins, Supply Chain Director, DHL (NHS Supply Chain), from London

Innovation & Sustainability Award:

• Marika Clemow, Head of Products & Services, ATG Media, from London

• Roz Golds, Head of Media UK Coach, National Express, from Worcester

• Tara Parandeh, Mechanical Engineer, Transport for London, from London

• Zoe Powers, Sales and Customer Relations Director, GLH, from London

Team Leader of the Year Award – sponsored by High Speed 1 (HS1):

• Lt Cdr Elaine Boyd RN, Logistics Officer, Royal Navy, from London

• Kath Gill, Head of ParcelShop Services, Hermes Parcelnet Ltd, from Leeds

• Anne Potter, Programme Manager, Northern Line Extension, Transport for London, from London

Leader of the Year Award – sponsored by Asda Logistics Services:

• Jenny Hooper, Managing Director, Independent Freight, from Nuneaton

• Fiona Kerr, Managing Director, First Glasgow, from Glasgow

• Jacqueline O’Donovan, Managing Director, O’Donovan Waste Disposal, from London

Industry Champion Award – sponsored by TNT UK:

• Ben Balfour, Operations Director, Advanced Supply Chain, from Halifax

• Sally Clarke, Upgrade Delivery Manager Crossrail and Third Party Projects, Transport for London, from London

• Sharon Hauber, HR Director for UK, Ireland and Nordics, UPS Ltd, from Feltham

• Nicola Hosty, Head of HR Support Services, Northern Rail, from Leeds

Maxine Benson MBE, co-Founder of everywoman, comments:

“Today’s announcement comes as the transport industry seeks to enhance its image as one that offers exciting opportunities to all women, from young women entering the workforce to those returning after a career break. This year’s finalists are the role models who demonstrate the industry is open to all backgrounds and skill-sets and that it welcomes talented and ambitious women. We know these finalists will inspire others to follow in their footsteps.”

The winners will be unveiled at a ceremony on Wednesday 3 June 2015 at the London Hilton on Park Lane. This event will be attended by over 400 industry leaders, to book your place or a table, please contact Joyce Sackey, Event Sales Manager on 0207 981 2579 or email joyce@everywoman.com