Thursday, April 9, 2015

This Weeks Appointments in the Freight and Logistics Sector

Worldwide Staff Changes Concerning the Shipping Industry
Shipping News Feature

WORLDWIDE – The International Maritime Organization (IMO) has named the six nominee for the position of Secretary General, to succeed Koji Sekimizu who announced last year his decision to not stand for re-election. The candidates for the role are: Andreas Chrysostomou of Cyprus, Vitaly Klyuev of Russia, Ki-tack Lim of South Korea, Dr. Maximo Mejia Jr of the Philippines, Andreas Nordseth of Denmark, and Juvenal Shiundu of Kenya. Elections will be held at the 114th session of the IMO Council which meets from June 29 to July 3. The successful candidate will lead the IMO from 2016.

NETHERLANDS – Ceva Logistics has announced the appointment of Antonio Fondevilla as Executive Vice President, responsible for the company’s global automotive sector.

UK – The Road Haulage Association has named Karen Crispe as its new Commercial Director. Crispe has previously worked for the Freight Transport Association in the same role from April 2014 to January 2015. Prior to that, she work for Tachodisc Limited for over 9 years.

UK – Leading Admiralty and dry shipping lawyer Steve Askins has joined Tatham Macinnes after spending 25 years at Ince & Co.

UK – Laura Nelson has been named Managing Director of RTITB.

JAPAN – MOL has announced the appointment of Junichiro Ikeda as its next President and Representative Director, effective June 23. Current President Koichi Muto, has been named as the next Chairman.

SINGAPORE – The International Bunker Industry Association (IBIA) has appointed Jason Leong to head up its Asian operations, succeeding Fook Sing, who has elected for early retirement. Michelle Mo has been appointed to lead the day-to-day business and to provide support to Leong.

US – The Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans has elected Scott Cooper as its new Chairman, succeeding Gregory Rusovich, whose term ended last month. Rusovich will continue to serve the port as a Commissioner. Additionally, the Board elected William Bergeron as Vice Chairman and Michael Kerney as Secretary Treasurer. Cooper is President of Crescent Towing and Executive Vice President of Cooper/T. Smith.

US – Genesee & Wyoming has announced the appointment of Hunter Smith to its Board of Directors, effective March 27.

US – Trelleborg’s marine operations has named Paul Welling as its new Regional President for the US. Following his success as Regional Director for the Middle East and Africa, in which he won Trelleborg the largest ever contract for fender systems, Paul has moved over to take on the president’s role in the US to establish the company’s new manufacturing and business development facility in Berryville, Virginia.

US – The Directors and Trustees of the Coast Guard Foundation has elected Will Jenkins to serve as Chairman of the Board. He is a Director on the Board of the American Bureau of Shipping, and a Trustee of the Webb Institute. Also at the board meeting, Vice Admiral Sally Brice-O'Hara, USCG (Ret.) was named to an open position on the Executive Committee.