Tuesday, November 30, 2021

There May be One Benefit to Covid 19 for Those Situated Right Around the Globe

Pandemic Makes Global Events Accessible Virtually to a Wider Audience
Shipping News Feature

SINGAPORE – Apart from those who have made fortunes trading in PPE and the like there have been little in the way of positives from the scourge that is the Coronavirus pandemic. However one thing which is now possible, which to most would have been unreachable previously, is the ability to be present using virtual technology at events occurring no matter where on earth they are.

Due to Covid 19 and the associated problems with gaining access to the heavily restricted island state of Singapore from overseas, this year the annual Mission to Seafarers Awards can be accessed by anyone, wherever they may reside on Wednesday December 8. The awards honour the commitment and contributions to seafarers’ welfare made by seafarers, shore staff and shipping companies around the globe.

The awards are a prestigious event which recognise individuals and organisations that have made significant contributions to improving the welfare of seafarers and this year the shortlisted nominees are as follows:

  • Seafarer's Award: - A seafarer who made a significant contribution to welfare at sea Chief Cook Luvimar Ibay / Stephen Williams / Capt. Giovanni Perucho / Siti Nasuah Binte Abdul Rahman / Koo Wei Loon / Servet Akturk
  • Shore-based Award - The shore-based person who has made a significant contribution to seafarers' welfare Homi Bharda / Jebsen Gamido / Riza Jamero / Mr. Angelo Jacobo
  • Cadet Award - The Cadet or Trainee who has made a significant contribution to seafarers' welfare at sea or ashore Yrhen Bernard Sabanal Balinis / Gerald Kishen Joseph / Gurleen Singh
  • Secretary General Award - The person or company who has shown sustained efforts to improve seafarers' welfare at sea or ashore Thome / EPS / Mr Seby Thomas / MPA / Ardmore Shipping / PTC
  • Innovation Award - For the company who has embraced a new programme, project or training which has enhanced seafarers' welfare Greywing / Magsaysay / PMP / Fleet / IMEC / Seaspan / Scorpio Group
  • Rescue Award - A new award introduced in 2021 Captain Battula & crew / Capt. Dacanay & crew / Capt. Eddie Ordona & crew

The event will be hosted by Sharanjit Leyl, International Broadcaster and 18 years BBC World News veteran who will be joined by Robert Walker, COO of ASP Group and the Mission’s Chairman in Singapore; Soon Kok, MtS chaplain; Rashpal Bhatti, Vice President Maritime & Supply Chain Excellence, BHP; Nick Potter, Head of Shipping and Maritime, Shell in Asia Pacific and the Middle East; and Esben Poulsson, Chairman, ICS and MtS Vice President.

The Mission’s Seafarers’ Awards in Singapore are supported by gold sponsors Shell and BHP, as well as silver sponsors North, Bureau Veritas, Singapore Maritime Officer’s Union (SMOU) and Singapore Organisation of Seamen (SOS). Key speakers from the maritime industry will also join the Awards, including the Judges, and silver sponsors and The Mission to Seafarers Secretary General, Revd Canon Andrew Wright, who said:

“The Seafarers’ Awards in Singapore have gone from strength to strength. Once again, as last year, we have seen outstanding quality in the nominations for 2021. As a judge, it has been really challenging to create our shortlist from the many outstanding nominations received. What makes this year’s crop of nominations particularly striking has been the fact that they are against the backdrop of a global pandemic.

”They reflect the immense contributions of so many organisations and individuals in responding to the acute challenges faced by seafarers and their families. We look forward to being able to host everyone online this year to announce the winners. We also hope for a live event next year and look forward to welcoming everyone in person in 2022.”

The Mission to Seafarers provides help and support to the 1.5 million men and women who face danger every day to keep our global economy afloat, working in over 200 ports worldwide. To attend the Awards online, please register HERE.