Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Shipping and Freight Forwarding Awards Again Promise to Be a Glittering Affair

BIFA Again Recognises Top Achievers in a Host of Categories as Finalists Announced
Shipping News Feature

UK – The shortlist for this year’s British International Freight Association (BIFA) annual Freight Service Awards has been revealed. Now in its 26th year, this prestigious competition encourages and rewards high standards and professionalism, representing the ultimate recognition of special achievements throughout the shipping and forwarding industry. As revealed previously the Awards are to be hosted this year by BBC Breakfast presenter Naga Munchetty, and the awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 22nd January 2015 once again at the popular London venue, The Brewery in Chiswell Street, EC1.

For the second year running, the gold sponsor of the host is DP World London Gateway, the UK's new world class deep sea container port and potentially Europe's largest logistics park, designed and located to help exporters and importers reduce costs and improve their supply chain performance. Also joining DP World London Gateway as Ceremony Sponsors to support the event are American Airlines Cargo, Delamode, Descartes, MCP, Port of Antwerp, Simpex FM and Woodland Group. The finalists in the nine award categories are as follows:

General categories:

Environment Award, sponsored by Red Recruit: Atlantic Pacific Global Logistics; Freight Systems Express (Wales); Samskip; Uniserve Group

Project Forwarding Award, sponsored by Peter Lole & Co: Arbour Shipping; Greenshields Cowie & Co; Panalpina World Transport; Sound Moves (UK)

Special Services Award, sponsored by Forward Computers: James Cargo Services; Schenker; Uniserve Group; UTi Worldwide (UK)

Staff Development Award, sponsored by Albacore Systems: Customs Clearance; Schenker; Unsworth Global Logistics; Woodland Group

Supply Chain Management Award, sponsored by BoxTop Technologies: Allport Cargo Services; MIQ Logistics; RIF Worldwide; Uniserve Group

Modal categories:

Air Freight Award, sponsored by IAG Cargo: Brunel Shipping & Liner Services (London); DSV Air & Sea; MOL Logistics (UK); Uniserve Group

European Logistics Award, sponsored by TT Club: Brunel Shipping & Liner Services (London); Damco UK; Freightex; UFS

Ocean Freight Award, sponsored by Cargoguide International: Brunel Shipping & Liner Services (London); Estuary Logistics; Moto Freight; Westbound Shipping Services

Individual category:

Young Freight Forwarder Award, sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo: Jefferson Inniss, Hellmann Worldwide Logistics; Jenifer Taylor, Santova Logistics; Charlotte Wild, Tudor International Freight; Kathy Wood, Moto Freight.

The Young Freight Forwarder Award is always well supported by those attending the awards and the deserving winner will receive a cheque for £1,000 and be nominated as the UK candidate for the Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year Award 2014. Robert Keen, BIFA’s Director General, commented:

“2014 has proven to be an exciting year for British business. A ‘no’ vote in the Scottish referendum coupled with the continuing economic recovery has renewed optimism across the freight forwarding sector. The Special Services and Staff Development categories were particularly competitive this year. It is also encouraging to see that seven BIFA Members have qualified as finalists for the first time.

“The BIFA Freight Service Awards ceremony is an opportunity to celebrate the strengths of our dynamic sector, network with peers and liaise with BIFA representatives. The awards encourage entries from small, medium and large companies, with the goal of identifying the highest standards of quality across the British freight forwarding sector. Every submission, as ever, was of the utmost quality. I would like to thank all the entrants and wish the finalists every success.”

The victors will be revealed at the BIFA Awards Ceremony Luncheon to be held on Thursday 22nd January 2015 at The Brewery, Chiswell Street, London, EC1. Tickets are available HERE from the BIFA Awards website.

Photo: BBC’s popular presenter will host this year’s Awards.