Friday, February 14, 2020

RoRo Ferry Group Offering Cash Awards Once Again for New Technology

Propeller Prize Up for Grabs Again for Baltic Residents
Shipping News Feature

SWEDEN – There are 200,000 Swedish Krona (€19,000) up for grabs which will be awarded to the winners of this year's Stena Line Propeller Prize 2020. This entrepreneur prize awarded by the RoRo ferry group annually since 2015 to young companies in the ICT and maritime technology arena from countries around the Baltic Sea, found a winner outside the home country for the first time since its inception when Gdynia based Searis Technologies won the category for maritime technology.

This year the two winners, each of whom take home 100,000SEK, will be announced on May 7 at the annual event Innovation Day at Blekinge Institute of Technology in Karlskrona, arranged by the Blue Science Park. Last year the ICT category prize went to All Binary in Karlskrona. Magnus Forsbrand, CEO at Blue Science Park said that the initiative for an international Innovation Day started last year now has an expanded focus around the Baltic Sea, welcoming applicants in the Stena Line Propeller Prize from all over the region.

The prize itself is named after the Latin word propellare driving force, something which naturally comes to mind. The Stena Line Propeller Prize awards companies who use technology to achieve sustainable goals, and that fits well with Stena Lines own vision ‘Connecting Europe for a Sustainable Future’.

Nominations for this year’s awards are now open and can be accessed HERE but entries must be in by the closing date of April 7. Erik Lewenhaupt, Head of Sustainability, Brand & Communication at Stena Line commented:

“Stena Line believes in the Baltic region. This year we celebrate our 25th anniversary in on the Karlskrona-Gdynia route but we also operate several routes from Latvia, Germany and Scandinavia. To strengthen the region further, we need more innovative companies and partnerships across the borders and therefore we welcome applicants from all countries in the Baltic Sea area.”

Photo: The Searis Multipurpose Unmanned Surface Explorer (MUSE), a product from one of last year’s winners.