Saturday, September 19, 2009

Rail Freight Group Awards 2009

Port of Felixstowe announced Business of the Year
Shipping News Feature

OXFORD, UK – The second year of the Rail Freight Group (RFG) awards saw the Port of Felixstowe taking top spot for their determination to promote rail access for all their customers to and from the port. The port now offers 28 daily services to 16 inland destinations including two new services introduced in 2009 by First GBRf to Hams Hall and Freightliner to Birch Coppice, despite the recession.

Telford & Wrekin Council were declared Freight Project of the Year winners for their dogged determination, over a far longer time period, to restore open access rail freight facilities in the West Midlands. Eddie Stobart won the award for Excellence in Service for achieving excellent reliability even in hostile times.

The Rail Freight Group is an organisation dedicated to furthering the cause of moving increasing levels of cargo by rail. It consists of over 150 member companies ranging from suppliers through logistics providers, freight train companies, container shipping lines to port and terminal owners.

Full details of the awards can be seen at the RFG website link below.