Friday, September 13, 2019

Port Group Picks Up Major Honour at Rail Freight Awards for Service to Logistics Customers

Host of Acknowledgements for Companies and Individuals Throughout the Sector
Shipping News Feature

UK – The annual Rail Freight Group (RFG) Awards for Excellence in the industry were announced during the ceremony and celebratory dinner held at the De Vere Latimer Estate Hotel, Chesham this week (12 September). PD Ports picked up the Business of the Year prize with the judges praising its outstanding commitment to its logistics customers and to the wider local community in the North East.

Other winners included Network Rail which won the Project of the Year category for its enhancement work on the Felixstowe to Nuneaton route, increasing capacity from 33 to up to 47 freight trains a day. Meanwhile a joint entry by Tarmac and RFS Works Ltd won the Innovation and Technical Development Award for a redesign of an urban depot including an innovative ‘Supergrab’ that significantly increased capacity and efficiency.

Peel Ports in Liverpool triumphed in the Community & Environmental Responsibility category with the rejuvenation of rail services and a huge investment in training and in generating new jobs in the local community. Special mention for an ‘astounding’ increase in turnaround times at a quarry by separating the shunting and the mainline services earned a joint entry by Victa Railfreight and Cemex UK the Customer Care Awards.

The awards were presented by the sponsors and presenters on the night, John Smith, MD of GB Railfreight (GBRf), and Simon Coppen of Burges Salmon and there were also two individuals recognised at the awards – Alan Handley of DB Cargo for Outstanding Individual Contribution and Craig Bickley of Maritime Transport was named as Young Railfreight Professional of the Year.

The Group welcomed Neil Robertson, Chief Executive, NSAR, who gave the after-dinner speech, and money was raised for the Railway Benefit Fund (RBF), the chosen charity of the RFG Awards Dinner and Maggie Simpson, RFG Executive Director, said:

“We continue to be amazed by the excellent and innovative work done by the members of the Rail Freight Group and are pleased to be able to recognise some of them through these awards.”