Thursday, January 12, 2017

New Logistics Boss Starts the Worldwide Staff Appointments News This Week

Host of Global Personnel Changes Include US Department of Transport
Shipping News Feature

WORLDWIDE – The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (CILT) has announced Lieutenant Colonel (Ret) Kevin Byrne to take over from out-going President, Paul Brooks. Byrne is a CILT veteran, having joined the then CIT in Ireland in 1992 as a Chartered Member. In 2002 he became a Chartered Fellow. Having served on the national council for many years, he was elected National President for two years, beginning in 2003, and an International Vice President in 2010. In January 2015 he was appointed as President-Elect of CILT International.

UK – The Port of Tyne has announced Steven Clapperton as Harbour Master. Clapperton joins the Port from the oil and gas consultancy sector where he was responsible for managing upstream marine operations for a major UK oil company. Prior to this he was a pilot at the Port of Tyne having previously been at sea as Senior Officer on-board various offshore construction vessels with Subsea7 and others.

GERMANY – Kiekert has announced Guglielmo Guastella as its new Executive Vice President of Sales, reporting to CEO, Dr Karl Krause.

GERMANY – Ken Rohlmann, Senior Director of Dangerous Goods at Hapag-Lloyd, has been elected to the position of Cargo Incident Notification System (CINS) Deputy Chairman, until the end of 2019.

LUXEMBOURG – US – Benny Mantin, a Professor of Supply Chain Management, has been appointed Director of the Luxembourg Centre for Logistics and Supply Chain Management (LCL), a cooperative effort with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), effective since January 1.

US – Pangaea Logistics has announced the appointment of Mark Filanowski to the role of Chief Operating Officer. Filanowski will remain on the Board of Directors of Pangaea as a Non-Independent Director, and he will retain his existing ownership interests in Intrepid Shipping.

US – Southwest Airlines has announced a number of changes to its Executive leadership team, with Thomas Nealson named as President and Michael Van de Ven as Chief Operating Officer, both effective immediately. The two will also report directly to Southwest Airlines Chairman and CEO, Gary Kelly.

Nealon re-joined Southwest a year ago as Executive Vice President Strategy & Innovation. He had previously been a member of Southwest's Board of Directors from 2010-2015 and also served as Southwest's Chief Information Officer from 2002-2006. Van de Ven is a 23-year veteran of Southwest and has served in various leadership positions in Internal Audit, Finance, and, for the last 11 years, Operations.

Greg Wells has been promoted to Executive Vice President Daily Operations, reporting to Van de Ven. Wells will be responsible for Ground, Air, and Technical operations and will continue in his role as the Company's Emergency Director.

Andrew Watterson has been promoted to Senior Vice President & Chief Revenue Officer, and will assume additional responsibilities for the Customer Relations & Rapid Rewards Department. He will continue to report to Bob Jordan, Executive Vice President & Chief Commercial Officer, and also lead the Business Development, Revenue Management & Pricing, and Network Planning departments.

Steve Goldberg has been promoted to Senior Vice President Ground Operations & Provisioning and will report to Wells. The airline's Provisioning operations will move from Cabin Services to Ground Operations and report to Goldberg.

Vice President Labour Relations Michael Ryan has announced his retirement effective March 1, and Russell McCrady has been named Vice President to succeed him in that role and will report to Van de Ven.

US – Logistics Plus has named David Whitehall to head up its Sourcing Solutions division.

US – Dupré Logistics has announced five new Branch Managers as part of its recent expansion. The new Buffalo, New York office will be led by Peter Szymanski, whilst the Dallas, Texas site will be headed by Josh Harrington. Additionally, Carl Barata heads the Los Angeles, California Branch; Demond Kennedy the Atlanta, Georgia Branch; and George Lobrano at Lafayette, Louisiana.

US – The Intermodal Association of North America (IANA) has elected Adriene Bailey, Chief Strategy Officer at Yusen Logistics (Americas) as its Chair for 2017. She formerly held the office of Vice Chair.

US – The US Department for Transport has announced that it is establishing a new advisory committee focused on automation across a number of modes. The committee will meet for the first time on January 16. The new committee members are:

  • Co-Chair: Mary Barra- General Motors, Chairman and CEO
  • Co-Chair: Eric Garcetti- Mayor of Los Angeles, CA
  • Vice Chair: Dr. J. Chris Gerdes- Stanford University, Professor of Engineering
  • Gloria Boyland- FedEx, Corporate Vice President, Operations & Service Support
  • Robin Chase- Zipcar; Buzzcar; Veniam, Co-founder of Zipcar and Veniam
  • Douglas Chey- Hyperloop One, Senior Vice President of Systems Development
  • Henry Claypool- Community Living Policy Center, Policy Director
  • Mick Cornett- Mayor of Oklahoma City, OK
  • Mary “Missy” Cummings- Duke University, Director, Humans and Autonomy Lab, Pratt School of Engineering
  • Dean Garfield- Information Technology Industry Council, President and CEO
  • Mary Gustanski- Delphi Automotive, Vice President of Engineering & Program Management
  • Debbie Hersman- National Safety Council, President and CEO
  • Rachel Holt- Uber, Regional General Manager, United States and Canada
  • Lisa Jackson- Apple, Vice President of Environment, Policy, and Social Initiatives
  • Tim Kentley-Klay- Zoox, Co-founder and CEO
  • John Krafcik- Waymo, CEO
  • Gerry Murphy- Amazon, Senior Corporate Counsel, Aviation
  • Robert Reich- University of California, Berkeley, Chancellor's Professor of Public Policy, Richard and Rhoda Goldman School of Public Policy
  • Keller Rinaudo- Zipline International, CEO
  • Chris Spear- American Trucking Association (ATA), President and CEO
  • Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger- Safety Reliability Methods, Inc., Founder and CEO
  • Bryant Walker Smith- University of South Carolina, Assistant Professor, School of Law and (by courtesy) School of Engineering
  • Jack Weekes- State Farm Insurance, Operations Vice President, Innovation Team
  • Ed Wytkind- President, Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO
  • John Zimmer- Lyft, Co-founder and President

BERMUDA – Höegh LNG Holdings has announced a new organisational structure, effective January 15. Höegh LNG will set up a new division, the Operations Division, which will be headed by the Chief Operating Officer, (COO), who will have responsibility for the technical and commercial management of all Höegh LNG assets in operation. Vegard Hellekleiv, previously Chief Technical Officer, has been nominated to the position of COO. Øivin Iversen, who until 2016 headed Höegh LNG's FLNG activities, will replace Hellekleiv as CTO.

SINGAPORE – DHL has named Alfred Goh as Regional Head of Customer Solutions and Innovation in Asia Pacific.

SINGAPORE – CHINA – Wan Ching Chiang has been promoted to Registrations Manager for the Liberian Registry in Singapore, and the Liberian Registry’s Greater China team has been bolstered by the additions of Pao Chi Hsu and Owen Fu as Technical Managers.

CHINA – Adam Davis, former General Manager of CH Robinson TMC (APAC) has joined oTMS as Vice President of Managed Services, a department which consists of three parts SaaS TMS, Transportation Process Management, and Consulting services.

AUSTRALIA – The South Australian Freight Council has announced former Adelaide Airport Managing Director, Phil Baker as its first Independent Chairman.