Friday, June 8, 2012

Logistics - UK Warehousing Awards Finalists Announced

2012 Winners to be Announced at July Ceremony
Shipping News Feature

UK – This year’s finalists in the United Kingdom Warehousing Association (UKWA) awards have just been announced with several companies appearing in more than one category, and some even in the same category twice for separate achievements! The awards are established as prestigious symbols of excellence in the 3PL sector and emphasise the importance of logistics within today’s economy.

The UKWA Awards for Warehousing 2012 are sponsored by Jungheinrich UK, Hoppecke Industrial Batteries, Lutterworth EcoLighting, Redirack, Knapp UK, Toyota Material Handling UK, Clarion Events, Briggs Equipment UK, RedPrairie and Psion (UK) and the Awards ceremony and Luncheon is widely regarded as one of the premier networking events in the logistics industry’s calendar. This year over 400 UKWA members and their guests are expected to attend. UKWA’s chief executive officer, Roger Williams, commented:

“We are grateful to all those companies that entered this year’s Awards for Warehousing and the ones that did not make the shortlist of finalists should not be put off from entering in future years. The high number and quality of the entries we received underlines the professionalism that runs through the modern logistics industry.”

The finalists are:

Customer Service Award - Paul Ponsonby Ltd - Torque - Century Logistics Ltd

Training Award - PF Whitehead - Briggs Equipment UK Ltd - forklift service engineers apprenticeship scheme - Briggs Equipment – Homebase forklift operator training programme

Technology and Innovation - Elddis Transport (Consett) Ltd - P&O Ferries - Redirack Ltd

Best New UKWA Member - Williams Shipping Transport Ltd - Warehouse Holdings Ltd

Warehouse Manager of the Year - Steve Kavanagh – Amethyst Group - Steve Nelson – Boughey Distribution - Leigh Brown – Edwards Transport (Shropshire) Ltd

Team of the Year - Amethyst Group - Wincanton Plc – Coddington site - MDA Ltd - Wincanton Plc – repair & overhaul centre

Environment Award - MDA Ltd - Boughey Distribution - Elddis Transport (Consett) Ltd

Young Employee of the Year - Joanne Dolan (Paul Ponsonby Ltd)- Jamie Bonwick (Boughey Distribution)- Kara Pyne (Century Logistics Ltd).

The overall winner of each category will be announced at the UKWA’s Awards for Warehousing Ceremony which takes place at London’s Dorchester Hotel on Wednesday July 4th and for details of ticket prices and availability please contact Jacquie Corderoy at UKWA on +44 (0)207 836 5522.