Friday, January 22, 2010

Logistics Giant To Hold Freight Theft Prevention Audio Conference

Will Discuss Methods to Cut Cargo Crime
Shipping News Feature

USA – Intermodal freight operator Schneider National has teamed up with logistics security specialists FreightWatch International and trade publication Kane’s Beverage News Daily to help tackle the issue of freight thefts. In the United States alone, cargo thefts grew 12 percent in 2009 and 13 percent in 2008.

The three companies are to hold an audio conference on supply chain security, with emphasis on how those who ship alcohol can tighten their defence measures. The 35-minute presentation will be held by Walt Fountain, Director of Loss Prevention and Enterprise Security for Schneider National and FreightWatch International’s Director of Consultancy and Intelligence, Dan Burges.

Together they will discuss how their two organisations have utilised a combination of high- and low-tech techniques so as to successfully combat cargo thieves, with participants able to take part in a Q&A session after the presentation to learn more.

In 2008 Schneider National reduced customer freight thefts by 31 percent and in 2007, 22 percent—the exact opposite of what the industry at large has experienced. This translates into a $1.3 million reduction year-over-year in the value of merchandise stolen.

The conference is scheduled to take place on Monday, the 25th of January at 4 p.m. EST (3 p.m. CST / 9 p.m. GMT). Anyone wishing to take part simply needs to dial:

1-218-936-7999

And enter passcode: 251837

http://www.schneider.com/