Sunday, September 22, 2013

Logistics Award to Container Shipping Line Again Whilst Cargo Group Win Overall

Eight Companies Share the Spoils at Annual Event
Shipping News Feature

US – WORLDWIDE – It was slapped backs all round at the Center of Logistics Excellence in Jacksonville, Florida when eight companies were winners this year at Ceva Logistics third annual Global Supplier Awards, with IAG Cargo being crowned overall winner by being named Ceva’s Global Supplier of the Year, and container shipping line Safmarine, collecting the Ocean Supplier of the Year title.

Ceva’s first Center of Logistics Excellence, which opened in February of this year, was initially the scene for the days event, and the overall intention was to recognise supplier’s efforts to support Ceva’s ongoing commitment to provide impeccable execution of services to its customers. The award celebrations were held at a gala dinner and ceremony at the nearby Players Club (TPC) Sawgrass and Ceva’s CEO Marv Schlanger, commented:

“Excellence really was the theme of the day; starting with the opportunity for us to bring supply chain excellence to life at our Center of Logistics Excellence and ending with the recognition of outstanding performances among our supplier community. Congratulations to each and every one of our winners. The partnership with our suppliers is what allows Ceva to continue to deliver impeccably for our customers around the world.”

A Special Commendation award was presented to AKNO Business Parks in recognition of its support of Ceva in the development of a strong presence in key markets in Italy through both the City of Books, the largest publishing hub in Europe, and this year the City of Pharma, a pharmaceutical hub located at the focal point of Italian logistics flows and the intersection of major Italian communication, rail and road routes. This allows Ceva to reach approximately 13,000 pharmacies, 500 hospitals and 400 wholesalers, with a total of about 350,000 shipments per year. A full list of winners was as follows:

• Americas Supplier of the Year Penske Truck Leasing

• Air Supplier of the Year IAG Cargo

Asia Pacific Supplier of the Year Overland Total Logistics (OTL)

• Ocean Supplier of the Year Safmarine

• Technology Supplier of the Year Sprint Nextel

Europe Supplier of the Year Jungheinrich

• Road Supplier of the Year TNT Express

• Special Commendation AKNO Business Parks

• Global Supplier of the Year IAG Cargo

Our photo shows, from left to right, Safmarine’s Arthur Bredehoft and Grant Daly receiving the Ceva award from CEO Marv Schlanger. Safmarine first won the Ocean Award in 2011 when Ceva presented its inaugural Global Supplier Awards, and according to Safmarine CEO, Grant Daly:

“It is an honour to be recognised once again by Ceva for delivering on our commitment to providing them with the highest quality of customer care. This award is also valuable and important recognition for all those in Safmarine who have contributed to a successful Ceva/Safmarine partnership by providing Ceva with the support and solutions they need. I also wish to thank and commend the Ceva team on the commitment it has shown to partnering with Safmarine, a partnership which has been in place for the past 12 years.”