Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Logistics and Transport Awards Winners Announced

Best in Class Achieve Excellence
Shipping News Feature
UK – The best in class came together at the Royal Lancaster Hotel last week to celebrate outstanding achievements in logistics and transport at The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport's (CILT) Annual Awards for Excellence 2017. The event recognised and applauded the highest standards throughout the profession, with 15 high profile awards presented by Robin Proctor FCILT, President of CILT.

Journalist and Broadcaster Michael Portillo hosted the event this year and shared his erudite insights from government and around the globe. In congratulating the winner of this year's awards, Kevin Richardson FCILT, Chief Executive of CILT, spoke of the necessity of recognising achievements within the industry, saying:

“We are not very good at talking about the successes of our sector. This event is a great platform for us to do just that and recognise those who demonstrate a significant contribution to the development of our profession. This is an exciting time for logistics and transport, it is full of opportunity and the leaders of our profession have a responsibility to continue to elevate the bar to allow our sectors to thrive.

“Congratulations to all of this year’s winners. The standard of entries gets higher every year and we hope that the awards you received tonight allow you to not only raise the profile of individuals and organisations, but also the profile of our great profession.”

CILT’s premier award for outstanding achievement, the Sir Robert Lawrence Award, was presented to Neil Ashworth FCILT, CEO, CollectPlus. First presented in 1986, the Award was donated to the Institute of Logistics and Distribution Management, a predecessor of the current Institute, by the National Freight Consortium. This award recognises an individual’s outstanding and sustained contribution to the profession of logistics and transport.

The winners of the CILT Annual Awards for Excellence 2017 are:

Development of People

National Express Bus and Coach

Environmental Improvement – sponsored by The Environmental Network

Greenshields Cowie & Co Ltd

Freight Transport Best Practice – sponsored by FORS


Information Management


Journalist of the Year

Paul Clifton FCILT – Transport Correspondent for BBC South

Operations Excellence

Kuehne + Nagel

Passenger Transport Best Practice – sponsored by XPO Logistics

Network Rail & GWR



Sir Robert Lawrence Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain

Neil Ashworth FCILT

Student of the Year – sponsored by Michael Page

Matt Devlin, Chris Saunders and Glenn Trimmer, Peel Ports – Manchester Ship Canal Project

Supply Chain Innovation – sponsored by BT Supply Chain

Kuehne + Nagel

Transport Policy and Planning – sponsored by Tachograph Analysis Consultants

Transport for Greater Manchester – Metrolink Second City Crossing

Vulnerable Road Users Safety – sponsored by Fleet Source

Transport for London

Warehouse Operations – sponsored by Toyota Material Handling (UK)

Pharmacy 2U and Logistex

Young Manager of the Year – sponsored by Hays

Matthew Chamberlain