Thursday, September 12, 2019

Last Chance Fast Approaching to Gain That Elusive Gold Standard UK Freight Forwarding Award

Still Time to Nominate as Paralympic Athlete Announced as Event Host
Shipping News Feature

UK – The British International Freight Association (BIFA) has announced Ade Adepitan, one of the UK's most well-known Paralympians and broadcasters, as the host for its annual Freight Service Awards competition. Entries to the awards, which are now in their 31st year, are still open. The appointment matches a succession of sporting heroes and heroines who have acted as BIFA hosts.

The BIFA awards ceremony luncheon is one of the most eagerly anticipated annual events on the industry calendar. The 2019 awards will take place at The Brewery in London’s Chiswell Street on Thursday January 16th next year when Ade Adepitan will host more than 500 BIFA members and their guests. In the past few years the Brewery has established itself as the venue of choice for the BIFA celebrations.

Once again the awards will provide a valuable opportunity for attendees to not only acknowledge the worthy winners and listen to an interesting speaker, but to enable the freight forwarding community a unique chance to network with people from within the industry. BIFA Director General, Robert Keen commented first on this year’s host, saying:

"Ade gained a bronze medal in the Athens Paralympics, as well as a silver medal in the European Championships. Entrants to our awards will be aiming to achieve something similar to his ultimate accolade of a world championship gold medal, with a BIFA freight service trophy of their own.

“Overcoming challenges to achieve success characterise all of the companies that win a BIFA freight service award. Ade Adepitan is great example of someone that has responded to the challenges of childhood polio to develop a very successful career as an international wheelchair basketball player and a reputation as one of the UK’s most popular broadcasters.

“Every year, after the awards have taken place, I get members who say that they wish they had entered. So, with just a few weeks left until the October 8th entry deadline, now is not the time to take a time out. I would urge all members to think about their applications now, so they don’t have any regrets later.”

BIFA’s Freight Service Awards are open to all members of the trade association, which represents UK companies engaged in managing the international movement of freight by all modes of transport. The BIFA Freight Service Awards are separated into eleven categories, as follows:

General categories

Modal categories

  • Air Cargo Services Award – sponsored by IAG Cargo
  • European Logistics Award – sponsored by TT Club
  • Ocean Services Award – sponsored by Port Express

Specialist categories

Individual category

BIFA members can choose to enter from this link.