Friday, June 15, 2018

FTA everywoman Transport and Logistics Awards Continue to Promote Women in Sector

Female Freight and Passenger Talent Lauded at Annual Event
Shipping News Feature
UK – For a man who has undoubtedly been under some political pressure of late, Secretary of State for Transport, Chris Grayling gave a very upbeat speech this week when introducing the FTA everywoman Transport and Logistics Awards. The annual event, which celebrates and promotes the growing influence of women in the freight and passenger sectors, was once again held in the Ballroom of London's Marriott Hotel in Grosvenor Square, and a well-attended celebration also saw the return of the popular motoring journalist, and ex racer Amanda Stretton to compere the occasion. Chris Grayling said:

”In an industry often confined to male stereotypes, women can really make a difference, bringing in fresh skills, and it is up to all to make a difference in this, targeting men, as well as women, to harness all the diverse skills [of both] to build a smarter, stronger economy. Young women must know they can succeed and, whilst we are making progress, women should be seen to be making up 50% of the boards of companies.

”We must also ensure more ethnicity in this regard, and, as we move forward, we have now seen government require major companies publish figures illustrating the gender pay gap, there has been the launch of ‘Think Logistics’ and also the Strategic Transport Apprenticeship Task Force to strengthen our industry, and this again is a tribute to the logistics sector in the way it has addressed the shortage of [female] engineers.

”I thank the firms who are making this happen, to me logistics is a very important sector and with factors such as the development at Heathrow we can see how complex and sophisticated they are and realise we need more female leaders in a sector which is going well but needs all the skills we can get.

”Finally I must say to every nominee ‘well done’, all nominees here today are winners.”

Following the usual excellent luncheon came the main business of the day with a video presentation from the nominees. Most Awards were in two sections, Above & Beyond, for those within an organisation excelling at their task, and Leader, for those actively driving change. From a very strong field the winners were:

The Freight Award Presented by: Euan McMurdo, Logistics Director, Royal Mail

Above & Beyond: Kate Turner, Head of Planning, DB Cargo UK

Leader: Keely Priestman, Managing Director, Diamond Distribution

The Passenger Award Presented by: Caroline Rose, UK Integration Lead at TNT

Above & Beyond: Nikki Sohal, Heathrow Express Control Room Competence Manager, Heathrow Express

Leader: Liz Chandler, Director of Corporate Development, Merseytravel

The Infrastructure Award Presented by: Nicola Fyfe, Regional Operations Director, Amazon

Above & Beyond: Deborah Pye, Director Strategic Innovation, Walmart

Leader: Kayleigh Wilson, Transition Manager, DHL Supply Chain

The Supply Chain Award Presented by: Rachel Anderson, VP Marketing DHL Supply Chain UK & Ireland

Above & Beyond: June Jones, Senior Manager Operating Model, Asda

Leader: Faye Calland, National Same Day Manager - Storage, Fashion & Solutions, TNT

The Warehousing Award Presented by: Stuart Birrel CIO Heathrow

Above & Beyond: Clare Maclauchlan, National Development Manager, Co-op

Leader: Sharon Hammond, Senior Director - Food North ALS, Asda

Industry Champion Award Presented by: Jon Parry, VP Asda Logistics Services

Winner Harriet Glen, Principal Transport Planner, Transport for London

Male Agent of Change This year a man was recognised for his efforts in promoting and encouraging the role of women in the industry. The Award was presented by Ian Deninson from Amey.

Winner: Wayne Jay, National Distribution Director, Royal Mail

The final Award, the coveted Woman of the Year was presented by Emma Emmett Director of HR at the FTA to Anna Delvecchio, Commercial Account Director at Amey and industry lead for the Women in Rail Southern Group and currently on secondment from Amey to the Rail Delivery Group helping to mould the government’s rail strategy.

The mood of the ceremony was summed up nicely by winner Clare Maclauchlan who commented that, with apologies to the organisers, she looked forward to the day when there would be no need for such events to promote the position of women within the workplace.

Photo: The winners gather to celebrate their success.