Monday, December 17, 2018

Freight Transport Awards Celebrate Logistics and Supply Chain Champions of 2018

Irish Comedian Hosts Another Glittering Occasion
Shipping News Feature
UK – Thursday December 13 saw the Royal Lancaster Hotel in West London as home to the second annual FTA Logistics Awards where host Irish comedian and television presenter, Dara Ó Briain kept the crowd of over 400 freight and logistics professionals amused as the Freight Transport Association (FTA) honoured those companies and individuals which had excelled in their profession in 2018.

Also present at the awards was Transport Secretary Chris Grayling MP and, during a presentation, the minister said he recognised the flexibility and resilience of the logistics sector in the face of challenging economic times and ongoing political uncertainty and praised the invaluable contribution of the industry to the UK economy.

The FTA Logistics Awards 2018 celebrated excellence within the supply chain leadership and recognised the leaders who have made a significant contribution to the industry, either as individuals or as businesses. The annual awards celebrate companies which play a vital role in delivering the raw materials and goods which Britain needs to succeed. FTA Chief Executive, David Wells, said the event showcased the very best of British industrial delivery and innovation, observing:

“The Logistics Awards celebrate success, achievement, and innovation across this industry - it’s great to see such a diverse range of companies brought together by FTA. The Awards dinner lived up to expectations to be the event of the year; a chance to celebrate the dedication and hard work of an industry determined to keep Britain trading.

”I would like to take this moment to congratulate all winners and runners up: they are a credit to the industry. The logistics sector often goes unrecognised and yet its work forms the backbone of British industry. It’s great to have a night like this to acknowledge the hard work of dedication of an often-invisible sector”

The full list of winners of the Awards, which were supported by Multimodal, is as follows:

  • Van Operator of the Year sponsored by FTA Recovery Royal Mail
  • Air Freight Operator of the Year presented by Multimodal 2019 Antonov Airlines
  • Sea Freight Operator of the Year sponsored by Maritime Transport GPS Marine Contractors Ltd
  • Road Freight Operator of the Year sponsored by Port of Dover Miniclipper Logistics
  • Retail Shipper of the Year sponsored by Tevva Electric Commercial Vehicles Houseology Design Group 
  • Manufacturing Shipper of the Year sponsored by Brigade Electronics Yusen Logistics & Hoover Candy
  • Logistics Partner of the Year 2018 sponsored by Sovereign Transport Services Uniserve Group
  • Logistics Champion of the Year for Essential or Public Service sponsored by FTA Fuel Card Flogas Britain
  • Most Innovative Company of the Year sponsored by Apollo Vredestein UK Ltd Reflex Vehicle Hire
  • Most Innovative Product of the Year sponsored by American Express TRAILAR
  • Logistics Champion of the Year for Diversity sponsored by Santander Corporate and Commercial Transport for London (TfL)
  • FTA Lifetime Achievement of the Year Stewart Oades

Photo: The 2018 Award winners gather around FTA Chief Executive, David Wells.