Friday, October 23, 2015

Freight and Logistics Professionals Gather for CILT Awards

More Than 500 of the Great and the Good Meet in London
Shipping News Feature
UK – Over 500 leading professionals from the UK's freight and logistics industry gathered this week at the Lancaster London Hotel for the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (CILT UK) Annual Awards Dinner. Honouring individuals, companies and other organisations that have made major contributions to achieving higher and ever improving standards in logistics and transport operations during the last year, the event is hailed as one of the best networking events of the CILT calendar and this year’s Awards were attended by finalists, sponsors, members and their guests.

This year the event was chaired by CILT President Beverley Bell FCILT, and hosted by TV presenter Naga Munchetty. A total of 20 category winners were presented with their awards on the night and the Institute’s Patron, HRH The Princess Royal, presented the Awards to each winner, accompanied by Beverley Bell FCILT.

CILT’s special award for outstanding achievement, the Sir Robert Lawrence Award, was presented to Steven Parkin, Chairman of Clipper Logistics. First presented in 1986, the Award was donated to the Institute of Logistics and Distribution Management, a predecessor of the current Institute, by the National Freight Consortium. This award recognises an individual’s outstanding and sustained contribution to the profession of logistics and transport.

CILT President Beverley Bell also awarded outgoing Institute Chairman Neil Ashworth and the Institute’s outgoing Chief Executive, Steve Agg with the prestigious President’s Award for their commitment and work with the Institute.

The winners of the CILT Annual Awards for Excellence 2015 are:

McKibbin Research Foundation Award – sponsored by Bisham Consulting:

Helena M. Moretti, Graduate Project Manager, Transport for London

Logistics and Transport Journalist of the Year – sponsored by The Environmental Network:

Richard Westcott, BBC

CILT (UK) Certificate in Logistics and Transport Student of the Year – sponsored by Michael Page and Page Personnel Logistics:

Lee McFadden, Peel Ports

CILT (UK) Diploma in Logistics and Transport Student of the Year – sponsored by Michael Page and Page Personnel Logistics:

Ian MacDonald, Devonport Royal Naval Dockyard

Young Manager of the Year – sponsored by Hays Recruitment:

Mahesh Kurukulasuriya, Managing Director, GAC Sri Lanka

Freight Transport Best Practice – sponsored by Telogis:

Allport Cargo Services and Sainsbury’s

Passenger Transport Best Practice – sponsored by XPO Logistics:

Heathrow Airport

Warehouse Operations – sponsored by Toyota Materials Handling (UK):

United Biscuits in partnership with Logistex

Information Management – sponsored by BiS Henderson Consulting:


Development of People – sponsored by FORS:

DHL in partnership with Virgin Trains

Operational Excellence – sponsored by The Institute of Operations Management:


Transport Policy, Planning & Implementation – sponsored by Tachograph Analysis Consultants:

Transport for Greater Manchester – Metrolink Airport Line

Supply Chain Best Practice – sponsored by Castell:

SpringTide and DS Smith

Safety – sponsored by Great Bear:

Marshalls plc

Environmental Improvement – sponsored by Road Haulage Association:

Reading Buses

Vulnerable Road Users Safety – sponsored by Transport for London:

CEMEX UK Logistics