Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Expansion to Spanish Operations for Freight Forwarding and Express Parcel Carrier

Continuation of Iconic Industry Name Despite Changes in Ownership
Shipping News Feature
SPAIN – Freight forwarding and parcel delivery service TNT is expanding the coverage area of its international express delivery service in Spain, now offering next day delivery to and from an additional 1,300 postal codes. This builds on recent improvements in TNT’s network operations in Spain, including additional pickup and delivery vehicles and rounds, additional direct line haul routes, and the opening of a new international road transit hub in Madrid. TNT now covers more than 90% of Spain’s businesses. Christophe Boustouller, SVP Ops Southern Europe, said:

“TNT understands that our customers need added convenience coupled with superior customer service, and this network enhancement demonstrates our continued commitment to the Spanish market, which is one of Europe’s fastest growing economies.”

Last month we saw final approval from the international regulators for the deal which saw TNT become part of the FedEx empire and, as was explained at that time, the TNT brand will remain in place at the moment. However it is likely that in due course all the company’s services will rebrand as FedEx seeing the loss of a name which has graced the logistics industry for over 50 years.

As far as this latest move is concerned the International Monetary Fund expects Spain’s GDP to expand by 2.6% this year, faster than the euro zone average of 1.5%. Spanish customs data show a 3.7% increase in imports in 2015, stimulated by the domestic demand recovery. Spain imports high value goods such as industrial machinery, motor cars, medical and electronic equipment, as well as pharmaceuticals – all sectors that use express delivery services.

The next day service expansion covers every province of the country, including Málaga, Albacete, Badajoz, Cáceres, Ciudad Real, Toledo, Burgos, Valladolid, Gerona, Granada, Huelva, Huesca, La Coruña, Almería, León, Salamanca, Lugo, Murcia, Orense, Córdoba, Asturias, Palencia, Tarragona, Cádiz and Cantabria.