Friday, January 10, 2020

European Shipping Week Announces Speakers and Events Calendar

Great and the Good Gather in Belgium in February
Shipping News Feature

BELGIUM – EUROPE – WORLDWIDE – European Shipping Week will take place this year between the 17th - 21st February and the list of Flagship Conference speakers is a who's who of some of the big hitters in the shipping industry and associated sectors.

The Conference, to be held on 20 February 2020, will feature a range of speakers from the European institutions, national governments, the wider shipping community and the world of finance. As European shipping moves forward in this time of transition and uncertainty, this Conference aims to address many of the issues challenging the sector.

The Conference will be followed by the official ESW Reception and Gala Dinner, both taking place at The Hotel, Brussels. The week features many themed seminars, between them covering every aspect of trade and competition, safe and social shipping, and shipping and the environment, plus an exclusive guided tour of the Port of Antwerp.

The Gala Dinner is hosted by the European Community Shipowners' Associations (ECSA) and will for many be the highlight of the European maritime calendar. The Conference will be moderated by Carla Olival, President WISTA Portugal, Legal Counsel, EUROMAR and the prolific list of speakers include:

  • Adina Ioana Vălean, EU Commissioner for Transport
  • Oleg Butković, Minister of Maritime Affairs & Transport Transport, Croatia
  • Guilhem Isaac Georges, Sustainability Director, CMA CGM Group
  • Emanuele Grimaldi, Managing Director Grimaldi Group, Vice Chairman, ICS
  • Lasse Kristoffersen, Chairman, NSA & Vice Chairman, ICS
  • Charles (Bud) Darr, Executive Vice President, MSC Group
  • Natasa Pilides, Shipping Deputy Minister to the President, Cyprus
  • Stephen Cotton, General Secretary, International Transport Workers' Federation (ITF)
  • Norbert Brackmann, Federal Government Coordinator for the Maritime Industry, Germany
  • Ioannis Plakiotakis, Minister of Maritime Affairs and Insular Policy, Greece
  • Henrik Hololei, EU Director General for Mobility and Transport (DG MOVE)
  • Claes Berglund, President of the European Community Shipowners’ Associations (ECSA)
  • Agnes Jongerius, Member of the European Parliament, Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists & Democrats, Coordinator of the Committee on Employment & Social Affairs (EMPL)
  • Annaleena Mäkilä, Managing Director of the Finnish Port Association and Vice Chair of the European Sea Ports Organisation (ESPO)
  • William Todts, Executive Director of Transport & Environment (T&E)
  • Dimitrios Fafalios, President and Director of Fafalios Shipping SA, Chairman of INTERCARGO and Board Member of the Union of Greek Shipowners
  • John Lyras, President of Paralos Maritime Corporation S.A, Board Member of ECSA, ICS and the Union of Greek Shipowners
  • Charo Coll, General Manager Offshore and Salvage at Boluda Corporación Marítima
  • Annika Hult, Trade Director – North Sea at Stena Line
  • Jan Hoffmann, Chief of UNCTAD’s Trade Facilitation Section
  • James Hookham, Secretary General of the Global Shippers' Forum
  • Livia Spera, Secretary General of the European Transport Workers’ Federation (ETF)
  • Despina Panayiotou Theodosiou, President of Women's International Shipping and Trading Association (WISTA) and CEO of Tototheo Maritime
  • Margareta Jensen Dickson, Group Head of People at Stena Line
  • Pierre Jean Coulon, President of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) Section for Transport, Energy, Infrastructure and Information Society

Full details of registration and prices for the various sectors of the event vary and can be seen here and ESW Flagship Conference delegates are welcome to attend many of the themed events on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday free of charge, subject to availability. Visit the ESW event calendar for details.