Saturday, December 11, 2010

Do You Know An Outstanding Freight Trucker?

Australian Awards for Heroes of Haulage
Shipping News Feature

AUSTRALIA – Nominations are now being invited for the annual Australian Trucking Association awards which aim to recognise excellence in all facets of the industry, including the contribution of operators, drivers, trainers and the National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year Award (known to some as the ‘Sheila the Wheeler’ award). A pdf file of the nomination form can be downloaded HERE and gives full details of the requirements.

All nominations must be received by the 1st March 2011 and the awards ceremony will take place at the ATA Foundation Sponsors Dinner, part of the 2011 Australian Trucking Convention in May 2011. There are some excellent prizes on offer to the category winners including three international travel packages.

The categories for the 2011 Awards are:

The National Professional Driver of the Year;

National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year;

Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry;

Training Excellence Award;

The TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award

There will also be a yet to be named award for truck driver bravery. In addition to the National Trucking Industry Awards, the Don Watson Memorial Award will be presented to recognise the dedicated efforts of individuals within the broader trucking industry to the activities of the industry network.