Monday, September 27, 2010

Container Shipping Representative Group Announce Election Results

World Shipping Council Welcome New Board Member
Shipping News Feature

WORLDWIDE – Following on to Friday’s article regarding the World Shipping Council view of proposed regulation changes to the Shipping Act, they kindly pointed out that there was now no official Trans Atlantic Alliance as this was disbanded after the EU removed the block exemption for liner shipping in matters of competition. Members of the World Shipping Council (WSC) include all the major container shipping lines, collectively responsible for over 90% of the world’s box trade.

This month the organisation, based in Washington and Brussels, have seen elections which demonstrate the seriousness of their intent, evidenced by the calibre of Council members. The semi annual board meeting saw the election of Nippon Yusen Kaisha (NYK) Director Mr. Kenji Mizushima to the board replacing Mitsui OSK Lines Mr. Masakazu Yakushiji.

The Council also re-elected four board members to new two-year terms. These are: Mr. Thomas Crowley, Jr., Crowley Maritime Corporation, Mr. Rafi Danieli, Zim Integrated Shipping Services, Mr. Y.M. Kim, Hanjin Shipping and Mr. Ron Widdows, NOL who will serve as Chairman of the WSC Board of Directors.

The above join other freight industry heavyweights Mr. Philip Chow, Orient Overseas Container Line (OOCL); Mr. Joachim A. Konrad, Hamburg Süd; Mr. Ulrich Kranich, Hapag Lloyd; Mr. Morten H. Engelstoft, Maersk Line;Mr. Rodolphe Saadé, CMA CGM; and Dr. Sun Jia-Kang, COSCO Container Lines demonstrating just how seriously the industry’s leading container carriers take this organisation.