Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Appointments US Freight Body has Road Haulage, Rail, Port & Air Cargo, Shipping and Union Interests

All the Global Logistics Staff Movements this Month Starting with North American Advisory Committee Team
Shipping News Feature

US – Firstly a record number of appointees as outgoing Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood recently announced the members of the National Freight Advisory Committee, a diverse group of professionals that will provide advice and recommendations aimed at improving the national freight transportation system. Comprising of 47 voting members from outside the Department of Transportation, the Committee will serve as ex-officio members. Members will serve two-year terms and meet at least three times per year and the roster includes representatives from the road haulage, rail, air and ocean cargo carrying communities plus union associates with port and shipping connections.

Representing freight related interests are Kristin Decas, Port of Hueneme; Rhonda Hamm-Niebruegge, Lambert International Airport; C. Randal Mullett, Con-way Inc.; Jack Holmes, UPS Freight; Brad Hildebrand, Cargill, Inc.; Craig Philip, Ingram Barge Company; John E. Fenton, Patriot Rail Corp; Paul Kelly, A & S Service Group; Rosa Navejar, The Rios Group; Paul LaMarre, Port of Monroe; Andrew Lynn, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey; Ricky D. Smith, Department of Port Control, Cleveland Airport; Leonard Waterworth, Port of Houston Authority; Randell Iwasaki, Contra Costa Transportation Authority; Stephen Alterman, Cargo Airline Association; Anne Canby, OneRail; Terry Button, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association; John Gray, Association of American Railroads; Mortimer Downey, Coalition for America 's Gateways and Trade Corridors; James Hoffa, International Brotherhood of Teamsters; Richard Inclima, Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees Division of the Teamster Rail Conference; John Previsich, SMART – Transportation Division; and Michael Jewell, Marine Engineers’ Beneficial Association, AFL-CIO.

Representing Government entities Mayor Gregory Ballard, City of Indianapolis; Mayor Carlos Gimenez, Miami-Dade County; Mayor A.C. Wharton, City of Memphis; Mayor Michael Nutter, City of Philadelphia; John Eaves, Chairman of Fulton County Commissioners; Christopher Rodgers, Douglas County, National Association of Counties; Assembly Member Bonnie Lowenthal, State of California; Mike Tooley, Montana DOT; Ann Schneider, Illinois DOT; Stacey Hodge, New York City DOT; and Karen Schmidt, Freight Mobility Strategic Investment Board.

Other committee members include Karen Flynn, Arkema Inc.; Frances Inman, Majestic Realty Co.; Michelle Livingstone, The Home Depot; Peter Vigue, Cianbro Companies; Gary Palmer, True Value Company; William Roberson, Nucor Steel – Berkeley; Joan Claybrook, former President of Public Citizen; Kevin Brubaker, Environmental Law & Policy Center; Genevieve Giuliano, University of Southern California Sol Price School of Public Policy; José Holguín-Veras, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; C. Michael Walton, University of Texas Austin; Jeffrey Burns, Parents Against Tired Truckers and Citizens for Reliable and Safe Highways; and Mark Savage, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance/Colorado State Patrol.

WORLDWIDE – The International Air Transport Association (IATA) announced that Richard H. Anderson, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Delta Air Lines, has assumed his duties as Chairman of the IATA Board of Governors. Anderson succeeds Alan Joyce, CEO and Managing Director of Qantas Airways, whose one-year term expired at the conclusion of IATA’s AGM. Anderson’s appointment is effective immediately and is for one year, ending with the conclusion of the Association’s next AGM when Air Canada President and CEO Calin Rovinescu will serve as Chairman.

WORLDWIDE – Lloyd’s Register has announced the appointments of Chris Finlayson, Chief Executive of BG Group, and Ellis Armstrong, ex-Chief Financial Officer of Exploration and Production at BP, as Non-executive Directors on the board of Lloyd’s Register Group.

US – The Long Beach Board of Harbor Commissioners has approved the appointments of Dr. Noel Hacegaba, the Executive Officer of the Board, to serve as the Acting Deputy Executive Director of the Port of Long Beach and Al Moro, Chief Harbor Engineer, to the position of Acting Executive Director. The board also elected Long Beach advertising executive and fellow board member, Thomas Fields, as President for a one-year term to start July 1. He will succeed Commissioner Susan Anderson Wise, who has served two years as President.

Rounding out the selection of board officers, Commissioner Nick Sramek was elected as Vice President. Commissioner Doug Drummond was voted Secretary. Commissioners Wise and Rich Dines will serve as assistant secretaries. All terms start July 1.

US – The Jacksonville Port Authority Board of Directors unanimously voted to offer the position of CEO of Jaxport to ex-Horizon Lines Executive, Brian Taylor. The Authority also announced a series of changes to the board with AT&T Senior Executive Joe York serving as the next Chairman; John Anderson, Vice-Chairman; John Falconetti, Treasurer; and Dr. John Newman, Secretary of the Jacksonville Port Authority Board of Directors. York takes over from James Citrano on July 1.

US – Air Menzies International has promoted Darren Zieba to the newly-created post of Global IT Project Manager. In his new role, Zieba will be based at AMI’s Chicago Office, and will assume responsibility for several major system projects.

US – Sourdough Express has announced the promotion of Brian Skinner to the position of Vice President of Freight Services. Skinner joined the company 10 years ago as the Manager of Business Development.

UK – This month saw Andrew Wright officially installed as the New Secretary General of the Mission to Seafarers. Reverend Wright took over the role in February but was welcomed formally at a reception held at London’s Baltic Exchange on June 18. The reverend comes from a nautical background having formerly worked as Director of Operations at the Fishermen’s Mission and honorary chaplain to the Isle of Wight for The Mission to Seafarers.

UK – Virgin Atlantic Cargo has promoted Steve Hughes to the post of Regional Vice President Sales, for its Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) region. Hughes is now based at London’s Heathrow Airport and reports to Nick Jones, Virgin Atlantic Cargo’s Head of Sales.

UK – Former Chairman of Ford of Britain, Joe Greenwell has been announced as the CEO of the Automotive Investment Organisation (AIO), a new government backed scheme to grow the UK’s automotive industry.

UK – After serving two years as the Road Haulage Association’s National Chairman, Richard Fry of Shepton Mallet-based Frampton’s Transport Services, passed his chain of office to Peter Barber of W H Barley Transport based in Milton Keynes.

UK – Jungheinrich has announced the appointment of Hamid Khajehpour as Warehouse Management Systems (WMS) Product Manager. Khajehpour will be based at the company’s Milton Keynes branch.

UK – Bevan Group has made two key changes to its management team with Roy Shelton becoming the West Midlands-based company’s first Business Development Manager, while Simon Dryburgh has been recruited to fill Shelton’s previous position of Aftercare Manager.

UK – Parcel delivery company Yodel has announced the appointment of Keith Basnett as its new Chief Operating Officer. Basnett will be responsible for the company’s operations and deliveries.

SWITZERLAND – UAE – After recently announcing that he is stepping down from his role as Executive Vice President Cargo Services and member of the Group Executive Management of Swissport International, John Batten has announced that he will take over as Managing Director of all-cargo carrier Coyne Airways in September. Batten will be based at the company’s Dubai division.