Friday, January 15, 2021

Appointments, Promotions and Departures in the Freight and Logistics Sectors

The Weekly Industry Staff Announcements
Shipping News Feature

WORLDWIDE – XPO Logistics has announced the senior leadership team for the intended spin-off of the company’s logistics segment. The spin-off will result in separate businesses with clearly delineated service offerings: XPORemainCo, a global provider of less-than-truckload (LTL) and truck brokerage transportation services; and NewCo, a contract logistics provider.

Brad Jacobs will continue to serve as Chair and Chief Executive Officer of XPORemainCo, and will become Chair of the NewCo board; Troy Cooper will continue to serve as XPORemainCo’s President; and the executives currently leading XPO’s global logistics segment will continue to serve in senior positions with NewCo.

Malcolm Wilson, currently CEO of XPO Logistics Europe, will become CEO of the new company’s global business. Richard Cawston is XPO’s President, Supply Chain Logistics – Europe, and will continue in this role with the new company. Ashfaque Chowdhury is XPO’s president, Supply Chain Logistics – Americas and Asia Pacific, and will continue in this role with the new company.

UK – The British International Freight Association (BIFA) Board and Council recently approved the promotion of Carl Hobbis as an Executive Director. Hobbis joined BIFA as training development manager in 2016 and has subsequently orchestrated a remarkable redevelopment of the trade association’s training and industry education functions.

UK – Logistics UK has announced the appointment of Ryan Barnett as its Economics and Research Manager.

UK – Pall-Ex Group has announced Paul Robbins to the role of UK Finance Director. Robins joined Pall-Ex from UK Mail, part of the Deutsche Post DHL Group, bringing more than 20 years’ experience in the parcel sector to the role.

UK – B&H Worldwide has appointed Michael Haskins as its new Head of Global Sales. Haskins joins the company with over 20 years of experience. He most recently serves as Managing Director at The Aerospace Logistics Alliance (TALA).

FRANCE – After 10 years at the top of Getlink rail freight subsidiary, Europorte, Pascal Sainson has chosen to retire as of January 1. Raphaël Doutrebente, current CEO of Europorte, succeeds Sainson as Chair. Doutrebente is a member of the Getlink Executive Committee

CANADA – Logistec Stevedoring has announced Philip O’Brien as Vice-President, Business Development. O’Brien was formerly President and founder of Gestion Castaloop which Logistec acquired in December 2020

US – U-Freight North America, the US subsidiary of the U-Freight Group, has named Frank Rettig to run the new consolidation centre in Chicago.

US – ArcBest has announced that Tim Thorne, President of ArcBest less-than-truckload carrier ABF Freight, will retire effective June 30, after a 31-year career with the company. Seth Runser, ABF Vice President – Linehaul Operations, will be promoted to the new role of ABF Chief Operating Officer, effective February 1, and will become ABF President on July 1.

US – Patriot Rail Company and Patriot Port Holdings (Patriot) has announced the appointment of Donald Itzkoff as Chief Policy Officer. In this newly created role, Itzkoff will lead Patriot's strategic policy engagement, reporting to John Fenton, CEO.

Itzkoff most recently headed global government affairs for Wabtec Corporation, and earlier led US government affairs for GE Transportation. His public service includes more than five years as Deputy Administrator, Federal Railroad Administration, US Department of Transportation. Itzkoff also served as a senior counsel to the US Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation.

US – The US Department of Transportation’s Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administrator (FMCSA) today announced its 2021 members for the Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee (MCSAC). The 2021 MCSAC Members include:

  • Michael Bray, Chief Commercial Officer, GM Commercial Transportation (Industry).
  • Lamont Byrd, International Brotherhood of Teamsters (Labor), Chairman.
  • Adrienne Gildea, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (Enforcement).
  • Jennifer Hall, American Trucking Associations (Industry). Vice Chairman.
  • Bruce Hamilton, Amalgamated Transit Union, International Vice President (Labor).
  • David Heller, Vice President of Government Affairs, Truckload Carriers Association (Industry).
  • David Huneryager, President and CEO, Tennessee Trucking Association (Industry).
  • Peter Kurdock, General Counsel, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety (Safety).
  • Jerrold (Jerry) Langer, Director of Sales and Marketing and Chief Commercial Officer, Langer Transport Corporation (Industry).
  • John Lannen, Principal, Institute for Safer Trucking.
  • Dawn King, President, Truck Safety Coalition (Safety).
  • Siddarth Mahant, Owner, Mahant Transportation, LLC (Industry).
  • Jane Mathis, Parents Against Tired Truckers (Safety).
  • Jaime Maus, Vice President of Safety and Compliance, Werner Enterprises (Industry).
  • Stephen C. Owings, Road Safe America (Safety).
  • Peter Pantuso, American Bus Association, Washington, DC (Industry).
  • Travis Plotzer, Captain, Tennessee Highway Patrol (Enforcement).
  • Danny Schnautz, Clark Freight Lines, Inc., Pasadena, TX (Industry).
  • Holly Skaar, Idaho State Police/Commercial Vehicle Safety (Enforcement).
  • Todd Spencer, Owner-Operator Independent Driver’s Association (OOIDA) (Industry).
  • Tami Friedrich Trakh, Citizens for Reliable and Safe Highways (Safety).
  • Christopher Treml, Director, Construction Training, International Union of Operating Engineers (Labor).
  • Ellen Voie, President/CEO/Founder, Women In Trucking (Industry).
  • Greer Woodruff, J.B. Hunt Transport (Industry).
  • Andrew Young, Managing Partner, The Law Firm for Truck Safety (Safety).

Photo: Carl Hobbis, new Executive Director at BIFA.