Friday, June 8, 2018

Appointments and Departures Start with that Continuing UK Boardroom Row

Who is Heading Where This Week Along the Supply Chain
Shipping News Feature
UK – Following last week's challenge of the proposed re-election of the Stobart Group's current Chairman by a minority group of shareholders, led by former Chief Executive Andrew Tinkler, the Stobart Group has announced that it has received a requisition to nominate Philip Day, a Dubai-based British billionaire business mogul with a penchant for the retail sector, to be elected as a Director and as a challenger for the position of Chairman.

UK – DB Cargo's UK Chief Executive, Hans-Georg Werner, has been appointed Chairman of the Rail Delivery Group (RDG) Freight Board, bringing with him a wealth of experiences in the rail freight industry, having been a member of the German-based Deutsche Bahn Group for more than 30 years.

The Board’s strategic priorities for 2018 would include ensuring sustainable track access charges for CP6 and beyond, the development of HS2 and strategic freight capacity on the UK network.

UK – International marine and engineering consultancy firm LOC has appointed the former Head of Engineering at BP, Ian Cummins, as its new Energy Projects Development Director.

ISRAEL – Zim Integrated Shipping Services has announced changes to its senior management team. After 14 years with the company, Rafael Ben-Ari, who is stepping down from his role as Vice President of Shipping, responsible for the Countries and P&L Centres, a position he has held since 2016.

Saar Dotan has been named to the role of Executive Vice President – Countries and Business Development, effective since June 5. Dotan previously served as the company’s EVP – Sales & Customer Service.

Additionally, Zim announced the new appointments to the management team, with Yair Teitelbaum as Zim's new VP of Global Sales, effective September 1, and Assaf Tiran as Vice President of Global Customer Service, effective immediately.

US – Delta Air Lines Cargo has appointed Lindsey Jalil, Delta’s former Managing Director of Operations Analysis and Performance team, as Managing Director – Commercial, a role previously held by Kristin Colvile, who was recently promoted to Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, SkyTeam, the global airline alliance co-founded by Delta. Effective since June 1, Jalil will lead Delta Cargo's commercial activities including: Alliances, Distribution, Marketing and Communications, Products, Technology, Reporting and Revenue Management.

Perry Cantarutti, former CEO and Managing Director of SkyTeam, will be returning to Delta Air Lines to take up the role of SVP - Alliances.

US – Warehouse systems equipment manufacturer Wildeck has announced the promotion of Kelly Kamlager, as its new Director of Marketing, effective since June 4. She replaces Hubert Schlegel, who is retiring on July 13, after 13 years with the company. Kamlager reports to Paul Mihelich, Vice President of Sales and Marketing. She began her career with Wildeck in 20016 as Marketing Assistant, steadily working herself up the ranks.

US – Meijer Logistics Manager Carol Heinowski was recently named Board Chair of the National Private Truck Council (NPTC), an Arlington, Virginia-based trade association that represents the private corporate trucking fleet. The 10-year Meijer team member is the first woman in the association's 79-year history to take the helm.

US – Southeastern Freight Lines (SEFL) has announced the promotion of Chris Rich to the role of Service Centre Manager, based in Fort Myers, Florida.

US – BorgWarner has announced the appointment of Frederic Lissalde to President and Chief Executive Officer, effective August 1, at which time he will also join the company’s Board of Directors. Effective on the same date, James Verrier will step down from the role of President and CEO, and serve in a non-Executive advisory role to the Board of Directors and CEO, in order to support a successful transition, until he retires from the company on February 28, 2019.

Lissalde has been with the company for 19 years and currently serves as Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

US – Lear Corporation, suppliers of automotive seating and electrical systems, has announced John Absmeier as Chief Technology Officer, effective June 18, and will report directly to Ray Scott, President and Chief Executive Officer.

WORLDWIDE – The International Air Transport Association (IATA) has announced Qatar Airways Group Chief Executive, His Excellency Akbar Al Baker, has assumed his duties as Chairman of the IATA Board of Governors for a one-year term effective from the conclusion of the 74th IATA Annual General Meeting. Al Baker is the 77th chair of the IATA Board and the first CEO from Qatar Airways to hold the position. He has served on the Board of Governors since 2012, and succeeds Goh Choon Phong, CEO of Singapore Airlines.

IATA also announced that Carsten Spohr, Chairman and CEO of Lufthansa, will serve as Chairman of the Board from June 2019, following the conclusion of Al Baker’s term.

Additionally, Cargo iQ, IATA's not-for-profit interest group aimed at creating and implementing quality standards for the air cargo industry, has announced the appointment of Henrik Ambak as its new Vice Chairman. Ambak is the Senior Vice President, Cargo Operations Worldwide at Emirates SkyCargo.

Nadeem sultan, Vice President – Global Cargo Operations at Qatar Airways Cargo, and Hendrik Leyssens, Head of Global Operations – Cargo at Swissport have been named to the Cargo iQ board, the respective companies’ first representative on the board.

Rutger Jan Pegels, Director of Performance Management at KLM Cargo, and Markus Muecke, Global Head, Airfreight Procurement and Product Management at Panalpina, also join the board, with Max Sauberschwarz, Vice President and Global Head of Carrier and Gateway Air Logistics at Kuehne +Nagel, and Jens Appel, Vice President Performance Management at Lufthansa Cargo, re-elected to represent their companies.

The Cargo iQ board consists of 13 seats each serving a two term. This year seven seats were up for election.