Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Annual Logistics Awards Champion the Cause of Women in the Freight Transport Sector

Ministerial Presence Illustrates the Importance of Smashing the Glass Ceiling
Shipping News Feature

UK – The finalists in the sixth annual everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards, now sponsored by the Freight Transport Association (FTA), were unveiled earlier this week, shining a spotlight on the female champions leading the way in the sector. The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony held at The Savoy Hotel in London on 16 May 2013 to be attended by over 250 business leaders; decision makers from across the industry and representatives from government including Stephen Hammond MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Transport.

The FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards programme exists to raise awareness of the women who are flying high in the profession and who are role models for future generations. By raising the profile of these individuals, women of all ages and at all stages of their working lives will become aware of the diverse and rewarding opportunities the industry offers. Whether still in education, returning from a career break or simply seeking a new role with great prospects, our finalists demonstrate that the transport and logistics industry offers great career options.

According to the UK Commission for Employment and Skills (UKCES), the logistics sector employs 1.45 million people, which makes up 5% of total employment in the UK, yet only 24% of these are female. The women nominated for these awards are crushing misconceptions about the industry being a male dominated environment, all having achieved incredible success through their ambition, determination and talent. Theo de Pencier, Chief Executive of the Freight Transport Association (FTA) commented:

“The FTA is exceptionally proud to be the Title Partner of the 2013 everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards. Women are an essential part of every aspect of supply chains, from drivers and warehouse staff, to transport managers and managing directors. Industry cannot be passive in attracting women, and the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistcs Awards are the perfect opportunity to showcase how women can make a career in transport a successful and fulfilling one which is why FTA is delighted to support this event. FTA is leading by example through the high proportion of female specialists and managers it employs and women also hold key positions on its Main Operating Board.”

The finalists in the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards for 2013 are:

Rising Star of the Year Award

Sophie Buck, Service Control Manager - Metropolitan Line, Transport for London; Hannah Kerins, Key Account Manager, iForce; Charlotte Laval, Supplier Performance Service Manager, Wincanton plc; Victoria Taylor, Site Manager, Tradeteam Limited

Driver of the Year Award – sponsored by TNT

Susanna Evans, Company Director/HGV 1 Driver, S N Evans Ltd; Shauni O'Neill, Train Operator, London Underground Ltd; Joy Wallace, Ambulance Driver, DHL Patient Transport Service 

Director of the Year Award – sponsored by Asda Stores Ltd

Jacqui Gavaghan, Performance Director, Reading Transport Limited; Lindsay Haselhurst, Development & Marketing Director, Wincanton plc; Nicola Ridges-Jones, Managing Director, Macintyre Scott Xtra (MSX); Fiona Taylor, Route Managing Director, Network Rail

The Warehousing Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain

Gail Jordon, General Manager, ASDA; Jenny Kneale , Operation Manager, UPS Ltd; Adele Waite, General Manager-Consumer Life Science Division, DHL Supply Chain

Industry Champion Award

Kat Horsley, Operations Director, Easy As HGV Group; Michelle Naylor, Depot General Manager, Palletways Birmingham; Paula Towers, Transport Operations Manager, Reed Boardall; Ruth Waring FCILT, Managing Director, Labyrinth Logistics Consulting Ltd

Innovation & Sustainability Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain

Gina Acosta, Landside Operations Manager, DP World London Gateway; Danielle Kozlowska, Process Improvement Manager, Stanley Black & Decker; Emma Moss, Head of Procurement Cluster – Services, Network Supplies, Facilities Management & Utilities, DHL GBS

Team Leader of the Year Award

Clare Bottle, National Logistics Manager, Lafarge Tarmac; Lucy McAuliffe, Stations Manager (High Speed), Network Rail (High Speed); Marion Roberts, Station Manager, Network Rail

Maxine Benson MBE, co-founder of everywoman, said: “Diversity is high on the agenda in the transport and logistics sector and the finalists announced [on Monday] demonstrate that change is happening in terms of the gender balance. They are proof that there are no barriers to success in the industry if you are committed and have the drive to succeed. These trailblazers are evidence of the opportunities the industry offers women at all stages of their career. Whether it is through leadership roles, managing a warehouse, as a driver or just at the start of their career, these women exhibit the skills that position them ahead of their peers.”

Prior to the Awards ceremony, everywoman and industry leaders will participate in a thought leadership Roundtable discussion. In direct response to the last year’s Roundtable discussion, The FTA and everywoman have collaborated on an industry wide programme – The FTA Accelerate Programme. Launched in March this year, this programme supports all operators in their desire to welcome a wider talent pool into the industry and support women into senior positions. The programme gives access to the various services that everywoman provides to support the female workforce, in order to build a robust talent pipeline.

Photo: The sharp end of transport - not for the faint hearted! This lady trucker found herself suspended on the Hampton Roads Beltway Bridge over the James River, Virginia after an accident (she was rescued safely).