Wednesday, November 13, 2013

25 Years of Freight Forwarding to be Celebrated at the UK’s Premier Shipping Awards Ceremony

BIFA Anniversary Looks Like Being Even More Special Than Usual
Shipping News Feature

UK – The shortlist for this year’s British International Freight Association (BIFA) Freight Service Awards has been revealed and with the event marking 25 years of excellence in the shipping and forwarding community, this year’s luncheon will commemorate the awards history, truly making it one of the shipping industry’s biggest occasions in the year. Hosted this year by BBC Countryfile Presenter Julia Bradbury, the awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 16th January 2014 once again at the popular London venue, The Brewery in Chiswell Street, EC1.

This year's host sponsor is DP World London Gateway, the new deep water port which opened earlier this month, whilst this year’s list of category sponsors will look like a mirror image of last year’s to those who follow these awards proving the popularity extends not only to regular attendees at the event. The finalists in the nine award categories are as follows:

General categories:

Environment Award, sponsored by Red Recruit: Damco UK, Freight Systems Express (Wales), Hellmann Worldwide Logistics, MacAndrews & Company

Project Forwarding Award, sponsored by Peter Lole & Co: Charles Kendall Freight, Moto Freight, Spatial Global, UFS

Special Services Award, sponsored by Forward Computers: ASAP Cargo (UK), Charles Kendall Freight, Interspan Freight Solutions, James Cargo Services

Staff Development Award, sponsored by Albacore Systems: 512, Customs Clearance, Dachser, GKN Freight Services

Supply Chain Management Award, sponsored by BoxTop Technologies: Damco UK, OHL International, WS Logistics (Procurus), Yusen Logistics (UK)

Modal categories:

Air Freight Award, sponsored by IAG Cargo: Geodis Wilson UK, IJS Global (UK), OHL International, RIF Worldwide

European Logistics Award, sponsored by TT Club: DSV Road, IJS Global (UK), MacAndrews & Company, WS Logistics (Procurus)

Ocean Freight Award, sponsored by CargoWise: Brunel Shipping (London), Cardinal Maritime, Estuary Logistics, Ideal International

Individual category:

Young Freight Forwarder Award, sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo: Samantha Bates, OHL International; Sam Camphion, Kuehne + Nagel; Michael Keeble, Professional Freight Solutions; Phoebe Rockwood, Damco UK.

The Young Freight Forwarder Award is always well supported by those attending the awards and the deserving winner will receive a cheque for £1,000 and be nominated as the UK candidate for the Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year Award 2013. Peter Quantrill, Director General of BIFA, said:

“Last year, the nation enjoyed the Diamond Jubilee of the Queen. This year, BIFA is celebrating its own Awards’ Silver Jubilee. Much has changed in our industry since the Freight Services Awards were first held. As freight forwarders have transitioned from simply transportation companies through logistics to providing global supply chain solutions, the raison d'être of the Awards has remained the same: to mark the highest standards of quality across the full range of British freight forwarders that manage the country’s international trade.

“As it is in every year, our Awards ceremony in January is viewed as much more than a lunch – it is a chance to put aside competitive pressures and meet other forwarders, to network, make friends and catch up with BIFA and its staff and other industry figures.

“We are delighted that the guest speaker and host for our 25th Freight Service Awards luncheon ceremony is television celebrity Julia Bradbury, and BIFA looks forward to welcoming its Members and their guests at the event.”

There will be a special programme distributed at the event, celebrating the awards’ 25 years history and showing every sponsor and winner’s name since the event started. Further information relating to ticket bookings for the luncheon ceremony on Thursday 16th January 2014, can be obtained by visiting the BIFA Awards web pages HERE.